Business Card Blues

My latest piece, on work identity and unsettledness, has been published in Sh’ma: A Journal of Jewish Ideas. You can read the beginning below and the rest here

The other night, as I tucked my 7-year-old daughter into bed, she turned toward me and asked a question that pierced through the sweet hugs and kisses with a mixture of curiosity and accusation: “Ima, I know you’re working on a lot of different projects, but what are you going to BE?”

My daughter is perceptive beyond her years, and apparently I’m not very good at hiding my own struggles with questions of work and identity. I gave her what I thought was a reasonable response — truthful, while acknowledging the uncertainty she had sensed: “Well, I’m not going to be just one thing: I’m your mom, and I’m also a teacher, and a writer, and a historian…”

She didn’t buy it, and truthfully, neither did I. I felt more comfortable when I had a title that fit on a business card, and a business card to put it on.

But a year ago, I chose to leap into the unknown, away from a job I’d held for more than a decade.  Read the rest at Sh’ma.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Business Card Blues

  1. Leah Gordon says:

    Hi Judith, thanks for the forward! I love reading your stuff. 🙂 And in the same issue I think was Tova Mirvis.

  2. Sandy says:

    Your writing is so honest, witty, sincere, and rings a chord that resonates for many.
    Don’t ever stop! It is always such a pleasure for me to “hear” your voice in this way.

Leave a Reply

